top of page

Dear Esteemed Colleagues and Honored Guests,

It is with great pleasure and pride that we welcome you to the 75th Annual Congress of the Philippine Orthopaedic Association (POA), taking place from November 13 to 16 at the EDSA Shangri-La Hotel in Mandaluyong City, Philippines.

As we gather to celebrate this remarkable milestone, we reflect on the journey that has brought us here. Founded in 1949, the POA has grown from a small group of dedicated orthopaedic surgeons into a robust and dynamic organization that stands at the forefront of orthopaedic medicine in the Philippines and beyond. Over the past 75 years, the Association has been instrumental in advancing the field through education, research, and the promotion of the highest standards of clinical practice.

Our commitment to excellence has seen the POA spearheading numerous initiatives to enhance the skills and knowledge of our members. Through continuous professional development programs, international collaborations, and cutting-edge research, we ensure that Filipino orthopaedic surgeons are on par with their global counterparts. This dedication to growth and innovation has cemented our reputation as leaders in orthopaedic surgery, contributing significantly to the healthcare system and improving the quality of life for countless patients.

As we celebrate this diamond anniversary, we are reminded of the many milestones we have achieved together. From the establishment of specialized training programs and the organization of international conferences to the publication of influential research, our journey is marked by a relentless pursuit of excellence. This Congress is not only a testament to our rich history but also an opportunity to look forward to future advancements and collaborations that will shape the next era of orthopaedic care.

We extend our deepest gratitude to all our members, partners, and supporters who have been part of this incredible journey. Your dedication and passion have been the driving forces behind our success.

Welcome to the 75th Annual Congress of the Philippine Orthopaedic Association. May this event inspire and empower us all as we continue to lead, innovate, and excel in the field of orthopaedics.

Warmest regards,



POA BOT 2024 V2.jpg


Honorary Chairman: Dr. Melito Antonio P. Ramos

Overall Congress Chairman: Dr. Justinian Aquilino IV Cyril Ll. Pimentel

Scientific Committee: Over-all Chairman: Dr. Anne Kathleen Ganal-Antonio


Scientific Program: Subspecialty Presidents

1. Hand – Dr. Jessica Anne A. Gandiongco

2. Hip and Knee – Dr. Nilo T. Paner

3. Sports Medicine – Dr. Raphael Angelo C. Jurilla

4. Spine – Dr. Samuel Arsenio M. Grozman/Dr. Orland Joshua M.    Alimbuyuguen

5. Ilizarov – Dr. Daniel V. Dungca

6. Shoulder – Dr. Jeremy James C. Munji

7. Foot and Ankle – Dr. Roberto Gabriel L. Lopez

8. Pediatrics- Dr. Rosalyn P. Flores

9.  Trauma – Dr. Jean Pierre F. Leung/Dr. Ma. Adelwisa G. Belen

10. Tumor- Dr. Charles Abraham C. Villamin

11. Women Orthopedics – Dr. Ameena Tara X. Santos

12. Wound care - Dr. Charles Richard R. Cabuquit

13. Ortho Research- Dr. Emmanuel P. Estrella

14. Ortho Education- Dr. Jean Pierre F. Leung


Ways and Means:

Dr. Peter S. Quiaoit (Treasurer)                                                        

Dr. John Andrew Michael A.Bengzon (Trustee)



Dr. Marcelino T. Cadag (Secretary)                                                 

Dr. Juan Antonio Maximiano R. Escano (Trustee)


Socials and Tours:               

Dr. Michael D.R. Muñoz

Dr. Marie Jeanne L. Bertol          


Physical Arrangement:       

Dr. Alvin A. Amador

Dr. Michael D.R. Muñoz       


Research Committee:            

Dr. Alvin A. Amador

Dr. Richard John C. Pecson

Reception/Transportation/ Accommodations:

Dr. Richard John C. Pecson

Dr. Marie Jeanne L. Bertol          



Dr. Michael D.R. Muñoz

Dr. Juan Antonio Maximiano R. Escano         


Sports Committee:  

Marcelino T. Cadag

Dr. Juan Antonio Maximiano R. Escano         


Awards Committee:           

Dr. John Andrew Michael A.Bengzon

Ricky Pecson Dr. Richard John C. Pecson         


Secretariat: Weng, Eden, Moises, Rhosyll




Cook Book: Dr. Renan Abellera

Bikers: Dr. Jovito Paz/Dr. Jerd Siatan

Webinar Series Dr. Michael Munoz

Socials:  Dr. Marie Jeanne Bertol

Fun Run: DR. Jose Miguel Lumawig

Bowling: Dr. Arturo Canete

Golf: Dr. Marcelino Cadag

Basketball: Dr. Enrique Leonardo Pasion

bottom of page